See through my eyes · Tragic Comedy

I don’t want a spoon, show me the tap!!


It’s crazy how difficult it is to find restaurants that read “Indian” in India! ๐Ÿ˜€ Especially in metros, where you can easily spot Chinese, American, Italian, Mexican, Thai and myriads of other cuisines but will have to do some legwork to land in a good Indian restaurant.

Lucky enough for me, we did spot a nice restaurant which, though not really Indian, offered some great Indian dishes. The only thing that was standing between me placing my orders and me digging in was the one hour waiting time. I learnt one hour is actually not a big deal, which came as a shock because down south, if the waiter is going to take more than 10 minutes, there are going to be words exchanged.

A plate full of steaming rice and mouth watering chicken gravy arriving at our table with one other extra item which I didn’t ask for. A spoon.Maybe for serving, but why one for each plate, wouldn’t one large spoon do? As I was contemplating, I could hear the cling clang of spoons hitting plates. Rice? With a spoon? From a plate? Well, no thanks. I am a typical South Indian who grew up eating with her hand. My mom taught me to do so, my grandmother taught me to do so and I’ve practically aced the skill of graceful eating with the food touching the fingers, but never the palm. But now I’m asked to throw that tradition out the window and eat with the spoon! I would have consoled myself and accepted my predicament if I was atleast given a bowl. But here I am with a flat utensil and a spoon to pick food from it. No way! So I just nudged the one next to me and asked where I would find the wash. It was then I was given “that” look. The look which told me I wasn’t supposed to ask for a wash in such places and that I wouldย  be given a finger bowl if at all some particles of food manage to touch my fingers. All my insides were screaming and I regretted ordering rice! Acting like everything was okay, I hid the real struggle I was having with my spoon pretty well. The pain only worsened when I saw several grains of rice sticking to the plate and when I realised my incapability to pick them up with the spoon. If only I had used my hand, I would have wiped the plate clean.

And then there is the South Indian wedding scenario. While half the guests come to bless the couple, the other half come only because they’ve been invited and because they want to feast upon the scrumptious biryani, the taste of which can never be achieved at home, no matter how many times you try. Comfortable seats, tens of servers running around with food and the joy of eating on a banana leaf-talk about bliss! Now the tables have turned. Servers stand and we are the ones who move about with plates in hand to get us a serving. Those are super heavy plates which cannot be lifted for more than a few minutes if you do not have significant arm power. I wonder, should I enjoy the food or have pity on my hurting arms or try to hold my anger as I look at the spoon? It has one advantage though, makes you want to get less weight on your plate, thereby helping you stay true to your diet decisions.

I’m having a hard time putting up with this. Maybe I should go on an “anti-spoon” campaign where like-minded Indiansย  can come together and do a hand-eating demonstration! That sounds like a plan ๐Ÿ˜‰

This is the sign to look for!
This is the sign to look for!

But as of now, let me just wait desperately hopefully for that day when South Indian weddings will go back to being truly South Indian and restaurants will have signs saying “Hands are allowed. Spoons not mandatory” and “The wash is this way”.

 

 

8 thoughts on “I don’t want a spoon, show me the tap!!

  1. So true, though I’m not a south indian, but an Indian as well, the new regime of carrying around your plates is just bad!
    First, the plates weight a tonne and its super uncomfortable to stand and eat.
    Second, you don’t get a seat since half of them are captured by the aunties and their handbags,
    Third, is that while eating by spoon since you have to carry it up so high to reach your mouth that there is always the risk or bunty or minti running around and hitting your hand and the spoon spiraling out of control ultimately leading to the food spilling on your new dress leaving behind a big blotch of turmeric stains.

    1. It’s such a relief to know that someone else feels the same way as I do!! As I read each line of yours, I’m nodding my head in agreement!!! So many are the practical difficulties!!! I hardly enjoy my food when I stand and eat!!!
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I learned so much about culture in India from this post. I had no idea that Southern Indians ate rice with their hands! In the States people usually eat rice with a fork. In China (where I spent my teen years), we always used chop sticks. So I’m still most comfortable with chop sticks and use them at home. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I always wonder how people manage to eat rice with a folk or chop sticks, because I’m used to eating with hands! So many diverse cultures and it’s always interesting to learn about new ones!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m glad I gave you a little idea about ours! ๐Ÿ™‚

What's your say?

