Waking up my inactive blog!


Hello there. When those few who follow my blog get a post notification in their reader or their mailbox, there is a good chance that they are going to go, “There was a blog named Encounter? When did I start following that?” Well, that is because my blog has been dormant for the past four months. Yeah I know, that’s a long time!

Blogging is all bout reading and writing. Though I’ve been ridiculously behind on my writing part, I have been enjoying all the joys that the reading part has to offer. Discovered wonderful blogs and read some of the best posts in the last few days. A cup of tea and a blog- just the right recipe for happiness!

I started keeping a journal and I’m always writing stuff there, so that’s the reason why I didn’t miss writing in my blog, ‘coz otherwise I can never ever stay away from writing this long! Also, so many things have happened over the past months,really, so many that at times I felt like it’s too much to take in, but folks, I survived and am better than ever! There are a myriad of things that I’ve learnt and realised. So, I decided, sharing some of them with you would be the perfect wake up post for my blog! 🙂

The first and the most important thing that I learnt is to accept failure. And that was hard, very hard. Doesn’t mean that I’ve never ever faced failure in my life and this was my first, but this time,it did affect me in ways like never before. I couldn’t accept it for one, and I couldn’t accept myself after that. The only thing that helped me out of it was alone time. I would talk to myself, cry to myself, and then kneel down and cry to God. I had been depressed once, so I was very careful to not enter into that stage again. I didn’t want to lose it. And, I didn’t. I wanted to learn from the failure and not die from it. After hours and hours of remorse, suddenly, in a moment, I chose to get up and be strong. Even I don’t know how that happened, but it did. But I was also very careful to tell myself that accepting failure, doesn’t mean I should get used to it. I should accept it, but not go numb. I realised I could actually use failure to drive myself to be better. But easily failure could drive you to think that’s how it is and things can’t be changed. Don’t be deceived.

failure

I also learned that faith is not just for the good times, but for the bad times too. It is so very easy to have faith when things are going well, when you have done good and the sail is smooth. But that’s just not what faith is about. As the NIV version of Hebrews 11:1 puts it, “Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.” Yeah, even when we do not see hope ahead, we need to have faith. Even when everything fails, we need to have faith. I have seen some use the phrase “blind faith”, but faith itself means blindly believing, hoping,trusting and most of all, resting in confidence.

first_step

I learnt to smile, AT ALL TIMES. Not just smile to hide the pain, but smile from the bottom of my heart. That takes a lot of courage. I made a commitment a month ago to stay calm and just smile when things aren’t going well and to dress up and show up even when I don’t want to. I succeeded in doing so in class. Before this commitment, I used to keep a long face when something isn’t right with me and people who see me will be able to guess that I’m having a bad day. But for the past three weeks or so, I’ve been able to forget everything and keep calm. That actually helped me sought things out faster and better.But  I’ve not been able to follow that at home, I start losing temper easily. I think maybe I’m taking it for granted the fact that I’m accepted at home no matter how I behave, but that has to change, and I sure am trying my best.

Happy

I believe all of us have those two or three places, those groups of people, around whom we always feel small, inferior and that we don’t measure up. I used to blame those people for making me feel that way, but a lot of thought made me realize that if I feel small around someone, then it’s my fault , not theirs. How easily we blame others! It’s really very important to have confidence in self. I never used to believe in myself when I was younger. When I grew up I started believing in God and in turn His purposes. I am one of His purposes. That realisation made me change by leaps and bounds. You may not measure up in certain things, not “good enough” according to worldly standards, but to God, you are perfect, a being who was “fearfully and wonderfully made” (Psalm 139:14) and He has a great great plan for you!

stand_tall

Sometimes I look at achievers, I look at success stories and go ,” Why does it come so easily to them and not me? Everything they touch, turns into gold, but I’m not able to excel in atleast  one thing. Why such injustice?” Yeah, that’s how it seems on the outside, but we never really know what the person had to go through, we never really know. Maybe it actually did come easily to them, but why does it have to discourage me? This is again about faith in self and faith in God’s doing.And also in His timing. This reminds me of the parable of the talents. (Matthew 25:14-30) Surely God has given us gifts. To stand around and wait for opportunities to find us makes no sense. I need to go out there, start trying things, and only when I multiply my talents , will God bless me with more. So the time spent in standing amazed at others, can actually be spent in fine tuning our talents! Let others’ achievements inspire you and not discourage you!

best_of_everything

So yeah, here comes the end of the year!! Just two months to go!!! I’m incredibly happy about all that life had to offer me this year, and who knows, there may  still be more in store! Prepared to embrace life! 🙂 I’m leaving you all with this video which inspired me a lot.

2 thoughts on “Waking up my inactive blog!

What's your say?

