Moi et mon monde · Tragic Comedy

The Adventures of Cleaning My Room!


Why is cleaning a room an adventure? It’s just a common task! No big deal! But trust me, it sure was an adventure for me πŸ˜€

I know how in the West children start living independently once they finish school. They pay for their college tuition, live in an apartment and all that. But here in South India things don’t work that way. We are dependent on our parents until we get a job or get married. Especially when we do college as day scholars (i.e staying with parents and going to a college that’s close to home) we are highly dependent on our parents and they would do everything for us just like how they did when we did our schooling!! May sound so strange to some of you! Well, welcome to our world!! It’s a little different for the hostelers I guess. Since they have to share rooms with other students, they develop a sense of responsibility over time. Well, I am a day scholar, so you know what category I fall into πŸ˜€

My mom likes to keep our house neat and presentable at all times. She does the same with my room. But after I completed school, she insisted that I start maintaining my room by myself. Even after that, when arranging the things in my room, my mom does most of the work. I do maybe 10 percent of the entire work.

As my irresponsible nature began to worry me and as my room was overflowing with more and more stuff, I decided it was time for me to chuck the unwanted things out and clean my room. As I had been hoarding things on a large scale the last couple of years, my mother said she would help me too. But this time she would do the 10 percent work and I would do the rest!!

Later that day, I got into the mood for challenge πŸ˜‰ So I went and told my mom that I would be doing ALL of the work. She gave me the “look before you leap” look πŸ˜€ But I felt I could do it!

And oh my God what a challenge it was!!! In my post The Child In You I speak about how I stopped becoming a hoarder as I grew up but I was so wrong!! I’m still a BIG BIG hoarder! As I started on my new expedition πŸ˜‰ , I decided I would take out all the things from my cupboards, keep them on the bed and the floor and then I would arrange them back after dusting and replacing the paper sheets in my cupboards, organizing everything in a more proper way so that it’s easier to search for something I need. Once I was done taking everything out, this is how it looked! Brace yourselves! πŸ˜€ (There was still more inside the cupboards! Books, clothes,much more!!)

944430_472432776175296_1116188388_n

This was when I wanted to scream “Mommy” and ask her to rescue me because I had no idea where to start. But as I said, it was a “challenge” and I stood my ground πŸ˜€ (Except there was no place for me to set my foot in my room!!!!)

It’s actually a very small room but it took me three days, yes THREE days to finish arranging everything and finally say “phew”!! My mom said she would have managed to clean all the rooms in our house and then some if we gave her three days!! But then she was really proud of me because it’s just a start and my room looked as if it had gone through a successful makeover at the end of the third day!

And why was it an adventure? Because of the things that I discovered in the course of cleaning my room! It is those little stuff that stole my attention.Then I would drown in memories and maybe that is why it took me three long days πŸ˜€ Some of the things that I unearthed didn’t deserve to be there in the pile of junk 😦 This gives me reason to clean my room more often and put things in their proper place.

Thought I would share a few pictures of some of the memorable things I found!! The first one right here is a beautiful photo frame gifted to me by my best friend when we were in, maybe 6th grade! It was actually my first proper gift from a schoolmate. Photo1715I call it “proper” because it was impeccably wrapped, rightly addressed and given to me by the most attention-giver-to-every-detail friend I’ve ever had! And I fell in love with it the minute I saw it!! I somehow kept believing that all these years it was safe inside a glass showcase in another room. But seeing it here in the mess was a shock! So I took it, fitted the above photograph and now the pretty frame sits elegantly on my table!

This HUGE pencil right here-makes me laugh!!!! This was like a hit in school some nine years ago. Here in our place we have yearly exhibitions where many sellers come together and sell things for a cheaper price and ridiculous amounts of people shop there every year.Photo1714 Every friend of mine in our neighbourhood and many at school had this pencil and they were proudly flaunting it! I thought “I need to get it”, but I really HATE crowds!! So I asked my parents to get this pencil for me without fail when they go to the exhibition. Finally after a week or so, I got it!! But it didn’t thrill me as I expected it to! It was so common by then ,almost everybody had it, so guess I just put it away. And here it has been all these years hiding out in my cupboard!!! This is one thing I have no trouble throwing away!! πŸ˜€

This piece to the left is a key holder. This not only brought back so many memories but also reminded me how much I’ve not been doing 😦 Photo1719As a kid, I used to be so fascinated by Do It Yourself activities. During every summer vacation, I try and do some amazing DIY decorative pieces on my own. So my parents decided to send me to a summer art class that was organized in our school and I thoroughly enjoyed that experience. This was our first activity there-decorating a wooden key holder to make it look like pieces of glass stuck together using glass colours. This one has a lot of flaws..there are colour bubbles and voids in many places but still I absolutely love it! Then I walked to another room where I found more of my hand works. Made me think that I shouldn’t have stopped doing them! I must get back to them sooner and enjoy the thrill those activities give me!!

Ah! another wonderful school memory!! These are the merit cards that our school gives to the topper of each class in the monthly exams! Photo1726These were to die for those days!!! πŸ˜‰ “Tippy Torch” was our school mascot and we could see how their arms(flames) move, in these 3D cards! So cool! B-) If we collect five or more in a year, we were promised a special prize at the end of the year which I guess the school authorities forgot about! But I remember eagerly waiting for that “special” prize to come!!

Finally I would like to show you this hair clip which found!Photo1728 I don’t remember how I got it!!!?? Did we buy it or was it a gift, I’m not really sure! But I refused to wear it because it was a black rose!! How could a rose be black was my question back then! But now I realise it’s actually a pretty hair clip! πŸ˜‰ I put it on last Sunday and many seemed to like it πŸ™‚ And one more thing, black roses are now a reality!! Spotted them in a park a couple of years ago! Some hybrid variety I guess!!!

Told you right?? It’s always the little things that occupy a big part of my heart and awaken many memories!! πŸ™‚ It was such a great experience cleaning my room and I know I’ll have something surprising me everytime I do it! πŸ™‚ Hopefully I’ll develop even more good habits down the line πŸ™‚

 

12 thoughts on “The Adventures of Cleaning My Room!

  1. Lynan ma’am, this is a remarkable post. Magnificent!!! When I read the initial part, I came to know that you are from South India (I didn’t realize that you are from my country). In the pen ultimate picture, I came to know that you are from my school. I am also from Bell School, Palayamkottai. Glad to see a Bell School student writing great blogs. GLORY be to GOD alone.

    1. Thank you for your encouraging comment πŸ™‚ I’m also happy to have someone from my school read my posts! Indeed, all thanks and glory to God!

  2. So true! Whenever I clean up my room I will find new treasures without fail! I dont even know how I manage to gather so much junk… but it happens I guess… some things you just dont wanna throw away just yet…

  3. So many treasures you uncovered, Pearlyn! Thanks for sharing about how cleaning your room is different for you, given your culture and environment. A few years after my own collegiate experience, I fell ill and returned home to live with my parents during treatment. I can relate to living with a mother who keeps a very neat home and the hoarding and the attempting to reduce hoarding.

    It sounds like you and I are the sort to become sentimental during our cleaning sessions, which extends the length of time it takes. I’m glad to know there are others who find treasures during a good clean!

    1. Hi Laura! You sound so much like me! πŸ™‚ Yeah so true, cleaning sessions are quite sentimental πŸ˜‰ Thanks for taking time to read and for posting this encouraging comment! πŸ™‚

  4. Hey Lynan! I don’t know if you knew but I am from India as well! I never knew you are as well. I’m from the North East! And I just did my engineering in Coimbatore. So I also kind of know how South Indian parents do almost everything for their kids. LOL. But I love south India[except the weather] LOL… I will be back to Chennai soon. πŸ™‚ :)… Enjoyed reading this

    1. Yup, I am aware that you are from North Eastern India..I have North East Indians studying in my college too and that’s how I found your page,through mutual friends!! πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by to read! πŸ™‚ And welcome back to South India πŸ˜‰

  5. I do the same thing! Get caught up in all the memories and moments. It is hard to part with “things” but feels so good to get organized too. It is a constant battle for sure! I bet the rooms is much nicer. πŸ˜€

What's your say?

